National Trombone Composition Competition

Over the years our workshop has evolved as a gathering place for trombonists from around the world. This congregation of talent provides the ingredients for new, progressive ideas and concepts to be shared with those who have a love of the instrument. Our hope is to offer an avenue for composers to showcase their particular talents by giving them the opportunity to compose new literature for the trombone canon. Each year the composer whose piece is selected by committee will be performed during the workshop. It is our desire to add to the body of literature for a number of different genre to include solo works with piano, trombone quartets and solo works with large ensemble. Therefore, we will set specific guidelines from year to year.

This year composers will submit a composition for trombone trio (any combination of three trombones). The work should be between 5 -10 minutes in duration, must be unpublished, and must not be the result of a commission.

The winning piece will be performed during the 2018 ATW. Composers who are interested must submit their piece to the ATW selection committee by December 15, 2017. The winner will be announced January 15, 2018. All entries may be considered for performance. Questions may be directed to SFC James Kazik via email. Please send:

  • Anonymous score
  • Anonymous recording
  • CD format only (MIDI realizations are acceptable);
  • A sealed envelope containing an information sheet with the work’s title, composer’s name, address, telephone, and email
  • A SASE for return of materials (international submissions cannot be returned).
    MAIL TO: The United States Army Band
    ATW National Trombone Composition Competition
    400 McNair Road
    Fort Myer, VA 22211

Past Winners

2017 - TheHouse for trombone quartet by Chris Ott

2016 - Glint for solo trombone by Lisa Bost-Sandberg

2015 - Alien Loop de Loops for trombone and electronics by Howard Buss

2014 - Fantasy for trombone choir by Joe Buono

2012 - Stephansdom for bass trombone and trombone sextet by Ryan Diefenderfer

2011 - O Crux by John Orfe

2010 - Trombone Quartet by Mark Scott

2009 - 3 Pieces for bass trombone and piano by Ken Davies

2008 - Preludes for trombone for tenor trombone and piano by Kenneth Amis