National Collegiate Solo Competition

National Collegiate Solo Competition

Congratulations to the winner of the 2022 U.S. Army Band National Collegiate Solo Competition, Matthew Meadows!

Matthew Meadows, horn

Raised in Jasper, Alabama, Matthew Meadows remains in-demand as a soloist, chamber musician and clinician. In recent years, he has earned top prizes in numerous solo competitions. In 2019, he was awarded second-prize in the International Horn Competition of America University Division. Most recently, he was named the “National Winner” in the MTNA Young Artist Competition, winner of the International Phoenix Music Competition for Horn Duos, winner of the 2021 Southeast Horn Workshop Graduate Solo Competition, winner of the 2021 Kappa Kappa Psi Biennial Solo Competition, and winner of the 2022 FOOSA Festival Concerto Competition.

In addition to his passion for solo performance, Matthew is an active chamber musician. He is the principal horn of the Capstone Horn Quartet, also known as “Tater and the Tots.” Since the groups inception in 2017, the Capstone Horn Quartet has been awarded first-prize in both the Southeast Horn Workshop Quartet Competition and the International Horn Society Summer Symposium Amateur Quartet Competition.

Matthew is currently a graduate teaching assistant with the University Bands at The University of Alabama, where he is earning his Doctor of Musical Arts in Horn Performance under the instruction of Charles “Skip” Snead as well as a Secondary Concentration in Wind Conducting under the instruction of Dr. Kenneth Ozzello. He earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Alabama. Matthew is a member of the International Horn Society, National Band Association, and the National Association for Music Education.

2022 NCSC Winner - Performance with The U.S. Army Concert Band

Matthew Meadows, our 2022 winner, will perform on September 25 with The U.S. Army Concert Band at Schlesinger Hall in Alexandria, Virginia.

2021 National Collegiate Solo Competition Winner

2020 National Collegiate Solo Competition Winner

2019 National Collegiate Solo Competition Winner

Past Winners

Year Winner School
2022 Matthew Meadows, horn University of Alabama
2021 Landon Chang, saxophone University of North Texas
2020 Salvador Flores, saxophone Northwestern University
2019 Charles "Chappy" Gibb, flute University of North Texas
2018 Trevor Borroero, marimba
2017 Dorien Tate, bass trombone
2016 Sandra Bailey, bassoon
2015 Brittany Lasch, trombone
2014 Christopher Leslie, euphonium
2013 Benjamin Andrews, marimba
2012 Francesco Camuglia, flute
2011 Rachel Perry, saxophone

Thank you for your feedback!

The U.S. Army Band Crest
We have received your submission.